Meet-Alex Khayo

img-20160920-wa0008
Mshika jembe? 😀

Who believes that his humility brought him to the finals as well as being Voted the most popular actor in season 2 of the pan African reality TV series, BET’s Top Actor Africa.

Two auditions on the same day, he skipped one & headed to the BET auditions despite being discouraged that the group auditioning were not looking for someone like him (speak of walking the road less traveled). Audition done, he gets the news the same day, he has been shortlisted. His reaction? calm but excited!

Catch a glimpse of Alex’s moments in Top Actor South Africa: 

Not bringing the title home has not stopped him from continuing to grow his strides; He has been blessed enough to get more gigs than ever! He just wrapped up shooting a German movie titled Brothers that is based on a true story and set to be released in March 2017. He is still on the set of NTV’s Pendo series that airs on Wednesdays at 7:30 p.m and is looking forward to be in a Hollywood movie soon. Blessings on Blessings! 🙂

I have not had an interview before that made me laugh as hard as his. He’s got a funny bone and surprisingly not too serious. Your face betrays you Alex. Haha!

img-20160920-wa0007
Alex Khayo

He started out acting in theaters, what has helped bring him this far?

  1. What was the first role you ever played?

I played a cop in a stage play though was very nervous.

  1. In one program, you dressed as someone of the opposite gender, what was that like?

It was challenging because I never thought I would ever do such.

 It never crossed my mind that I would have a shot at being a woman! Haha!

  1. Your best role so far?

My best role has to be a South African hobo. I acted most of it in Zulu language (ngiyabonga) meaning thanks Haha! (New word learnt 🙂 )

  1. The hardest role you’ve ever played?

I would say a nerd in top actor then disguising myself as a woman in NTV’s pendo

img-20160920-wa0006
Alex Khayo
  1. Whose work are you following at the moment?

Definitely Dwayne Johnson/Denzel Washington.

  1. What are you working on at the moment?

I am shooting NTV’s pendo and end of this year God willing, I will be doing a Hollywood movie.

  1. Where do you get your motivation from?

My motivation comes from the life I have gone through I have seen both extremes.

  1. How do you handle discouragements

I pray a lot….I derive my strength from God. (Impressive!)

  1. Best advice given? What advice would you give me?

Be you!

I would advise you to get married. Haha! I don’t know why though. Haha! (haha! When the time comes, when the time comes 🙂 ).

  1. Why I’m I asking you these questions? 😀

Why I’m I answering you? Haha!

The biggest lesson he’s learnt? He realized that by letting loose, one can do the things you never thought you would, Like being a finalist in the much acclaimed BET series 🙂

Connect with him on: Facebook

Instagram: @alex_Khayo

 

Leave a Reply

