Meet-Ace Tha Don

img_7136
Ace Tha Don

To Ace means to excel in a particular activity, to be a master of something. A genius! 🙂 And his lyrics depict just that!

You know what’s interesting? His stage name Ace stands for Arsenic Chronic and Explosive :).

To him, what makes a good rapper is: Longevity of the tracks he/she puts out, the Impact they create with their songs, how good they tell their story, write the songs and how they scheme their rhymes.

He’s been writing songs since 2004, what has he learnt since?

  1. What do you think your listeners get out of your Music?

    Well, that I’m smart (at least, I’d like to think so), considering I exploit the different sub-genres of Hip-hop and still maintain comprehensibility!
    That I speak my mind and not censor my thoughts and that I speak to and for the common mwananchi.

    img_7106
    Ace Tha Don

2. What do you hope to accomplish with your art?

I’ve said this in two or three songs, “I’m not interested in being the best, I’m more interested in being ‘the future'”.  My main objective is longevity, which is why I don’t make as many seasonal tracks. I want to maintain relevance with impactful songs long after my retirement, not just “that rapper that used to be….”

3. What’s the longest it has taken you to write a song?

Let’s see… I think a week. This was when I was writing “Alpha”.
Alpha was meant to be the mainstream single in the “Life In Rhyme” EP.. With simplified lyrics for the audience to internalize quick. Now, dumbing down bars is the hardest thing you can ask me to do. I used to come up with dope lyrics and then scratch them off, I’d be like “This is a simple track, people won’t even get that….”, then think of a simpler line to substitute that.

4. Your own most Favorite song? Why?

Goddamn! That’s a hard question.
I’d saaaay…..a tie between “Emcee vs. Industry” off the “Life In Rhyme” EP, and “Pound 4 Pound” off #BARS101.

bars101-album-art
5. Do you think you can keep this secret? 🙂

I don’t know what you’re talking about (see what I did there?) [I saw that!]
6. Whose work are you following at the moment?

I always have to be alert, know what’s new from who & basically just keep up with the entire Hip-hop industry. But who am I feeling right now? I’ve been bumping Macklemore’s “This Unruly Mess I’ve Made” album. This project is more Hip-hop than what most artists have put out this year.                               

Also, Snow Tha Product, King Los, Royce Da 5’9″ and Euroz.
In Africa…. I’d say King Shukid, Kevin Grands, Uneek, Nasty C and  Priddy Ugly.

7. Are you working on something at the moment? What is it?

I just gave y’all #BARS101. Take time to digest that first! Haha!
Though yeah. I am working on a couple things

img-20150828-wa0044
Ace Tha Don

8. How do you handle discouragements?

I hit the studio and channel that emotion on a track. End result is always perfection.

9. What would you tell anyone listening to your music for the first time?

Do not expect me to “dumb down”. My music is for the Sapiosexual.

10. Can I actually send the ‘Letter to the president’? 😀

Please do. Haha!
I’ve always wanted to do a politically conscious track and not necessarily look for an endorsement from it. “Letter To The President” is that track; a voice for the common mwananchi.

 

 

Facebook: @AceThaDonKE

Twitter: @Ace_Tha_Don

Instagram: ace_tha_don

One thought on “Meet-Ace Tha Don

Leave a Reply

