Who’s always loved everything about art.

What do you do with your Biro pen? Well, I just use it to write which is rare because computers and smart phones, you know, but for one Kevin Wesah, his use of the Biro pen is more than just write…

You’ve heard of people who dropped college or resigned from a well-paying job to pursue what they are passionate about? Kevin happens to be one of them; he dropped out of university where he was taking Bachelors in Industrial Chemistry to pursue his love and in 2013, his business was born 🙂

interview-with-kenyan-biro-artist-kevin-wesah-5
Kevin Wesah
  1. What’s your process? Do you write a script or make up the drawing as you go?

Yes for personal projects, I first identify a theme I want to depict in a drawing, and then I draw sketches to help me have a rough idea of what the outcome would look like.

  1. Do other art forms interest you?

I love everything about art, from sculpture, graphics design, pottery etc. as long as its creative I believe it can be a great source of inspiration.

ll

  1. Is drawing to you pleasure or pain?

Drawing is like music to my soul, I enjoy every moment.

  1. Your favorite art work?

I consider my entire works favorite; I still have the ones I drew four years ago when I was still experimenting with the biro technique. They remind me of the journey so far. What I have achieved and where I should improve on.

  1. What’s your goal?

I am still a work in progress…I am learning each day. My goal is to inspire many people especially the youth through my drawings. I would love to own a workshop in the near future to mentor every upcoming artist who has the passion.

  1. What are you working on at the moment?

Apart from commissioned drawings I have personal projects that I am working on behind the scenes. I tend to be moved by people’s daily experiences, you know the hustle that is in the neighborhoods and the hope of a better tomorrow.

So I am working on portraits that best capture these moments and hopefully they will have an impact on the society and make our leaders to act.

img_20160713_164741

  1. Best advice given?

“Have the courage to follow your heart and intuition. They somehow already know what you truly want to become. Everything else is secondary.” – Steve Jobs

  1. Whose work are you following at the moment?

I get inspiration from almost every artist…Every one of them has a unique story.

  1. Describe a real-life situation that inspired you?

I once had a client who was trying to woo a lady for a possible relationship. He told me he had tried everything but the lady just ignored all his efforts, so he hoped a drawing could work; he gave me the lady’s photo to draw… I gave it my best and delivered to him hoping for a positive response.  Two days later I received a “thank you” message from the lady, attached was a photo of them all smiles. Yes, art saved the day.

   10. You woke up and had 2,000 unread emails and could only answer 300 of them, how would

The automated pre-filtering I have setup should filter the junk, so I would avoid the toxic people and focus on my priorities for the day.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Kevin Wesah is proof that he is an artist driven by Creativity, Passion and Commitment.

Follow his work on his Social media platforms:

Facebook

Twitter

Instagram @wesah_n_biro

3 thoughts on “Meet- Kevin Wesah

  1. like it…the artist i am today is because of few artist i”ve looked uo to on my journey in art..especially when i do a piece in biro i think of his work..

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

